Flight plan format

Post Reply
TONYBISHOP
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 4:33 pm

Flight plan format

Post by TONYBISHOP »

Like many flyers in Europe, I use SkyDemon on an iPad for navigation. I don't expect you support either iPad or SkyDemon, but could you publish your flight plan format, and enable us to input a FP file via the USB stick?

Many thanks, Tony
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Flight plan format

Post by GRT_Jeff »

Our internal flight plan function can import a flight plan into the active sequence plan from a standard GPX file on a USB stick. It will accept a route or just a list of waypoints in order. This is the "Import" function on the flight plan page.
User avatar
rv8ch
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Flight plan format

Post by rv8ch »

Jeff, do you have an example that shows how to import a plan that uses identifiers already in the system, like airports? I don't want to create waypoints, just use what's already there. Thanks!
Mickey Coggins
http://rv8.ch
"Hello, world!"
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Flight plan format

Post by GRT_Jeff »

rv8ch wrote: Sat Feb 27, 2021 10:42 pm Jeff, do you have an example that shows how to import a plan that uses identifiers already in the system, like airports? I don't want to create waypoints, just use what's already there. Thanks!
You have to specify the coordinates anyway. The EFIS will try to match them up with something already in the system, otherwise it will just create a temporary waypoint as part of the plan. Here is a very minimal example of two waypoints that are also in our US database. VIO is a local VOR and 08C is a local airport.

Code: Select all

<gpx>
  <rte>
    <rtept lat="42.786716" lon="-85.497070">
      <name>VIO</name>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="42.936722" lon="-85.805756">
      <name>08C</name>
    </rtept>
  </rte>
</gpx>
User avatar
rv8ch
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Flight plan format

Post by rv8ch »

Thanks, can the EFIS import <trk> and <trkseg> as well as <rte> and <rtept>?

I found a tool that will format my Foreflight FPL file as GPX, but it puts out <trk> like this:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<gpx xmlns:gpxtpx1="http://www.garmin.com/xmlschemas/TrackPointExtension/v1" xmlns="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1" xmlns:trp="http://www.garmin.com/xmlschemas/TripExtensions/v1" xmlns:gpxx="http://www.garmin.com/xmlschemas/GpxExtensions/v3" xmlns:gpxtpx="http://www.garmin.com/xmlschemas/TrackPointExtension/v2" version="1.1" creator="RouteConverter 2.29">
    <metadata>
        <time>2021-04-14T08:20:14.584Z</time>
    </metadata>
    <trk>
        <name>LSGY TO EDNY</name>
        <trkseg>
            <trkpt lat="46.761944" lon="6.613333">
                <name>LSGY,Airport</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.13" lon="7.2297222">
                <name>VP067,Intersection</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.181389" lon="7.416389">
                <name>LSZG,Airport</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.183056" lon="7.741667">
                <name>LSPL,Airport</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.092153" lon="8.304847">
                <name>LSME,Airport</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.171667" lon="9.039444">
                <name>LSZX,Airport</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.7183333" lon="9.4233333">
                <name>VP003,Intersection</name>
            </trkpt>
            <trkpt lat="47.671317" lon="9.511486">
                <name>EDNY,Airport</name>
            </trkpt>
        </trkseg>
    </trk>
</gpx>
Mickey Coggins
http://rv8.ch
"Hello, world!"
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Flight plan format

Post by GRT_Jeff »

No. It looks like trk/trkseg is a generic way to record past positions. It's very close though. If you change trk to rte, remove the trkseg tags, change trkpt to rtept, and remove the type/purpose from the name tags (the name should be just the identifier, "LSGY" not "LSGY,Airport"), then it would work.

What does the FPL file look like?
Post Reply