Upgrading to aural warnings

New in 2019 this product is called the "10.1" after its screen size and is available in Horizon and Sport feature sets. This is not to be confused with an HXr although it shares similar features and graphics.
jlmeg

Upgrading to aural warnings

Post by jlmeg »

Good afternoon,

First time poster here. I'm just a pilot- not a builder or engineer. So, excuse my ignorance in advance. I've had my RV-7A with the Horizon 10.1 for over a year and would like to have aural warnings, particularly regarding AOA. The aircraft does not have aural warnings of any kind now. I believe it's not hooked up. Where should I start? I have neither the ability or experience to get "into" the panel unless the fix is very, very simple.

Thanks,
Joel
GRT_Jeff

Re: Upgrading to aural warnings

Post by GRT_Jeff »

The 10.1 has audio output pins in one of the D-sub connectors. Usually these wires have not been installed unless the builder has installed them or someone told their installer to install them. Wires have to be installed into the Connector "B" 25-pin D-sub on the back of the 10.1 display and then connected to the audio system. Some audio systems have stereo inputs and "Lo" grounds so you would have 3 wires to connect. Some only have a mono aux audio pin and no dedicated Lo/ground audio pin so they would only connect the Right audio wire.

B25 Audio Output Ground/Lo (only connect to other dedicated audio grounds/Lo)
B24 Right Audio Output (or mono)
B11 Left Audio Output (connect if audio system has a Left input)
jlmeg

Post by jlmeg »

Hi, Jeff-

Were you at the GRT booth at Sun N Fun? I think out paths crossed there. Thank you kindly for the reply. Honestly, I was looking at the technical part of your reply like a dog looking at a TV screen. I would need “a guy” with the know how and experience to upgrade my equipment. Any recomendations? Or a direction to start? Have plane. Will travel.

Thanks-
Joel
Bobturner

Post by Bobturner »

Joel,