V 7 ... audio alerts ...

GRT_Jeff
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: V 7 ... audio alerts ...

Post by GRT_Jeff »

jnewsum1 wrote:I have the audio output of one GRT Hx connected to an unswitched audio input on my Audio Panel. I am using the .wav audio files that RV-HXr made available. Both displays were recently updated to the latest software (vers 11.01). The only audio warning that I don't hear is "TRAFFIC and this is the one warning I was most interested in hearing.

I have the FreeFlight Ranger UAT ADSB which performs ADSB in and out wired to one Hx display. I get the Traffic alert pop up on the onside and cross side Hx display when the MFD format is being displayed and there is a traffic target within 2NM of me. I was expecting that since the GRT Hx EFIS is displaying the Traffic Alert pop up warning on the MFD that the "TRAFFIC" audio alert would occur at the same time.

What does the GRT Hx use to enable the audio warning? Is it a status bit from the ADSB receiver or does the GRT Hx derive the conditions to output the traffic audio warning.
The traffic alert audio is controlled by SET MENU, General Setup, Audio, Traffic Alerts. It should play the warning tone and "traffic" voice alert every time the number of targets within 2 nmi increases. Audio alerts don't play through the display link, so the audio will only play on a screen if that screen is the one that is also detecting the traffic. If the screen is showing the pop up, and that screen has the audio output wired (and Traffic Alerts enabled), it should be playing the traffic alert sounds. If it only plays the warning tone, then the "traffic.wav" audio file may not have been copied.
smbohn
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:35 pm

Re: V 7 ... audio alerts ...

Post by smbohn »

GRT_Jeff wrote:... Audio alerts don't play through the display link, so the audio will only play on a screen if that screen is the one that is also detecting the traffic. If the screen is showing the pop up, and that screen has the audio output wired (and Traffic Alerts enabled), it should be playing the traffic alert sounds. ...
Jeff... is this possibly why I don’t get auto pilot disconnect audio notifications? My audio alerts come off display unit 1 (which is wired to aux input) but my autopilot is connected to display unit 2. When the a/p disconnects, I get a visual indication on DU 2, but don’t hear a tone or the .wav file.

All the other audio files play fine.
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: V 7 ... audio alerts ...

Post by GRT_Jeff »

smbohn wrote:
GRT_Jeff wrote:... Audio alerts don't play through the display link, so the audio will only play on a screen if that screen is the one that is also detecting the traffic. If the screen is showing the pop up, and that screen has the audio output wired (and Traffic Alerts enabled), it should be playing the traffic alert sounds. ...
Jeff... is this possibly why I don’t get auto pilot disconnect audio notifications? My audio alerts come off display unit 1 (which is wired to aux input) but my autopilot is connected to display unit 2. When the a/p disconnects, I get a visual indication on DU 2, but don’t hear a tone or the .wav file.

All the other audio files play fine.
Yes. In your case DU2 is the only display monitoring the autopilot so DU2 would be the one to generate the audio on its own audio output. To make DU1 also generate its own disconnect alerts we'd have to add more to the software and link data.
Post Reply